NEPA Known World
A cleric is a human character who is dedicated to serving the Immortals. To that end, s/he has dedicated his/her life to prayer, magic and in most cases, fighting in the name of the Immortals. Many clerics do not choose a single Immortal to follow as all wise men know that there are many Immortals and all of them have their usefulness and need to be respected. Instead, most clerics worship and honor most those Immortals that represent the cleric’s alignment. Within the different alignments, however, there are many orders of clerics, made up of clerics serving the same ends. All clerics belong to an order. A new character begins at the very bottom of his/her clerical order. As s/he gains experiences, s/he gains new powers, spells and responsibilities in the order.
Clerics are one of the basic character classes. A full description is available in the Rules Cyclopedia. These rules are summarized here:
Experience and Spells per level
|Paralysis/Turn to Stone||14||12||10||8||6||5||4||3||2|
Prime Requisite: A cleric’s prime requisite is Wisdom. If a cleric has a Wisdom score of 13-15, the character gains a 5% bonus to experience points earned in every adventure; if his Wisdom is 16-18, he earns a 10% bonus to XP.
Hit Dice: Roll a six-sided die (ld6) to determine a cleric’s hit points. A cleric starts with 1d6 (1-6) hit points (plus any Constitution bonus) and gains 1d6 more hit points (plus bonus) with each level of experience. One additional h: point is gained for each level after 9th level.
Armor: A cleric can wear any kind of armor, and can use a shield.
Weapons: A cleric cannot use any weapon with a sharp edge or point; this is forbidden by the cleric’s beliefs. This includes arrows and quarrels. Bur the cleric can use any non-edged weapon.
A cleric has two special abilities: turning undead monsters and casting clerical spells.
Turning Undead A cleric has the power to force certain monsters called the “undead” (skeletons, zombies, ghouls, wight’s, and other types) to run away, or even to perish. This special ability is called “turning undead.”
When a cleric encounters an undead monster, the cleric may either attack it normally (with a weapon or spell), or try to turn it. The cleric cannot both attack and turn undead in one round.
When you want your cleric to try to turn undead, just tell your Dungeon Master “I’ll try to turn undead this round.” The power to turn undead is inherent in the cleric; he does not need the symbol of his faith or any other device to do it, unless the DM declares otherwise.
Undead monsters are not automatically turned by the cleric. When the encounter occurs, the player must refer to the cleric’s Turning Undead to find the effect the cleric has.
When the cleric tries to turn an undead monster, find the cleric’s level of experience across the top of the table. Read down the left column until you find the name of the undead monster.
If you see a ”-” in the column, then you cannot turn the monster. If you see anything else, you have a chance to turn the monster, or perhaps several monsters. See immediately below, under “Explanation of Results,” to learn how to find out if you have turned the monster.
Apply the results immediately. If the attempt succeeds, one or more of the undead monsters will retreat or be destroyed. But don’t forget, if the monster is turned, it hasn’t been destroyed; it may decide to return soon.
If you try to turn a specific undead monster (for instance, one specific vampire) and fail, you cannot try again to turn it in the same fight. At some later encounter, you can try to turn that individual again.
Explanation of Results
7, 9, or 11: Whenever a number is listed, the cleric has a chance to turn the undead monsters. The player rolls 2d6 (two six-sided dice). If the total is equal to or greater than the number given, the attempt at turning undead is successful.
When the attempt at turning undead is successful, the Dungeon Master (not the player) will roll 2d6 to determine the number of Hit Dice, undead monsters that turn away. At least one’ monster will be turned, regardless of what the DM rolls on his dice.
Example: A 1st level cleric has just encountered a group of seven zombies. Zombies (as you can learn in Chapter 14) each have two Hit Dice (2 HD). The cleric tries to turn the zombies. On the Turning Undead Table, a 1st level cleric vs. a zombie yields a result of 9: The cleric must roll a 9 or greater on 2d6 to turn the zombies. The cleric’s player rolls 2d6 and achieves a 10-he has successfully turned undead.
The DM now rolls to see what sort of results the cleric achieves. He rolls 2d6 and achieves an 8; in other words, the cleric turns 8 Hit Dice of zombies. Since each zombie is a 2-Hit Die creature, the cleric has turned four zombies. Four zombies turn and begin shambling away from the cleric as fast as they can move. This leaves the cleric with only three to fight. Next round, he can attack them with weapons or spells, or he can try to turn them, too.
T: The attempt at turning the undead automatically succeeds; the cleric’s player does not need to roll for success. To determine how many undead will be turned, the DM rolls 2d6 as described above; regardless of his roll, at least one undead will be turned.
D: The attempt at turning the undead automatically succeeds-in fact, it succeeds so well that the affected monsters are destroyed instead of merely turned. To determine how many Hit Dice of undead will be destroyed, the DM rolls 2d6 as described above; regardless of his roll, at least one undead will be destroyed. (The DM decides what happens when the monsters are destroyed: They might fade away, burst into flame and crumble away, or disintegrate like a vampire in sunlight, for instance.)
D+: This is the same as the “0” result above, except that the DM rolls 3d6 to find out how many Hit Dice of undead will be destroyed. Regardless of the roll, at least one undead will be destroyed.
D#: This is the same as the “0” result above, except that the DM tolls 4d6 to find out how many Hit Dice of undead will be destroyed. Regardless of the roll, at least one undead will be destroyed.
Using Clerical Spells
At 1st level, a cleric may only cast Orisons. A cleric may daily cast a number of orisons equal to their level plus their Wisdom bonus. Starting at the 2nd level of experience (having earned 1,500 XP or more), the cleric can use spells. The procedures by which the cleric learns and casts his spells are described later.
Higher Experience Levels
When a cleric reaches Name level (9th), he is called a patriarch (if male) at matriarch (if female). At this point in his adventuring career, he has several options available to him.
If the character is a Neutral cleric, he can decide to become a druid instead (see the description of that character class below); he certainly does not have to change his class.
If the cleric is a Neutral who does not want to become a druid, or if he is Lawful or Chaotic alignment, he must decide whether to build a clerical stronghold approved by his clerical order.
Depending on how the DM has set up his campaign, the cleric might have built himself a home, even a lavish castle, long before. However, that was his personal home, regardless of how big it is or what he has done with it. Here, we’re talking about a stronghold sanctioned by the cleric’s order, one which will be built and maintained to further the goals of the order.
A cleric who decides to build a stronghold with the sanction of his clerical order is called a “land-owning cleric.” (Note: This is merely a convenient term. A land-owning cleric can go adventuring with his footloose friends; he is not tied to his land.) There are advantages and disadvantages to setting up a clerical stronghold.
Advantages: The character can progress up through the ranks of his clerical order. The character may receive financial aid from his order toward the building of the stronghold. The character may be able to increase his lands and build strong settlements there, which could result in him becoming a very wealthy character indeed.
Disadvantages: The character will be the chief clerical authority (for his clerical order) for the lands around his stronghold. This means that he has clerical responsibilities to all the people living on and around his lands-responsibilities which may interfere with his desire to travel with his old adventuring friends or which may confront him with difficult problems.
A cleric who decides not to build a stronghold sanctioned by his order is referred to as a “traveling cleric,” even if he is not always on the road traveling. There are also advantages and disadvantages to being a traveling cleric.
Advantages: The cleric does not have to tie himself down to anyone place or group of people; except when acting on official requests from his order, he may go where he pleases.
Disadvantages: The cleric may not rise to or above the rank of a land-owning cleric, and may not achieve much political influence within his order. (He doesn’t stop earning experience points, experience levels, or personal power; he just cannot climb any higher in the clerical order’s hierarchy.) The cleric still has responsibilities to his clerical order, naturally; as before, he may be required at any time to uphold the beliefs and accomplish the goals of his order.
Becoming a Land Owner
If the 9th level cleric decides to build a stronghold, he must report to a superior of some type, either an official of his order or a ruler of the nation where he wishes to settle, to ask for land. This ruler should willingly grant the land, unless the cleric has had problems with him in the past; if so, the ruler may require some service of the cleric (such as a quest) before he grants the land. (The DM must decide whether the cleric’s order has the power to make such grants, according to the civilization of his campaign world.)
If the cleric has never been punished for misbehavior, either by his order or by the powers that grant him his spells, his order can (at the DM’s discretion) help him with the cost of building the stronghold. Such help usually involves the order paying for up to any amount the DM feels to be reasonable (the standard is 50% of the stronghold’s construction). The player should design the stronghold the way he wishes to see it built. The DM will calculate how much it would cost to build, determine to his own satisfaction how much of the design is good and necessary planning (and how much is extravagant over expenditure), and decide what proportion of the cost the clerical order will assume.
Regardless of how much the clerical order pays, the stronghold is technically the cleric’s property. The cleric can’t deny access to the property and its facilities to members of his order-normally, he shouldn’t ever wish to do so-but it’s his land, and he can’t just be assigned to some other stronghold against his will.
A number (typically 1d6) of lower level clerics will come to the stronghold once it is built, to assist and serve the cleric in operating the stronghold’s clerical functions. (See Chapter 11for more on this.) Naturally, he’ll get fewer or no assistant clerics if he has a reputation for abusing or endangering his retainers. These clerics have arrived with the intention of helping to operate the stronghold, not to travel with the cleric on his adventures. The DM should create each of these clerics as an individual, with his own name, personality, background, goals, and abilities.
If the cleric manages his land well and serves his order equally well, he will probably rise in power in the bureaucracy of his clerical order. In addition, he may be awarded more land; more normal men will settle the area around the cleric’s stronghold, and the cleric will receive more tax income from the settlements.
Choosing to Travel
A cleric who decides to travel may follow one of two routes: in civilized lands, or in wilderness.
A cleric who travels within the boundaries of the civilized world usually looks for ways to help those of the same alignment (whatever that may be). ‘The cleric may travel alone, with retainers, or with other clerics.
A cleric who travels to the wilderness usually searches for enemies of the clerical order, to convert or destroy. This cleric normally travels with other characters as an adventuring parry (though the others may all be NPCs).
Changing Back and Forth
Once a player decides to be a traveling or land-owning cleric, only a major development in the campaign or in the character should change that status. The DM should discourage frequent or casual changes of the cleric’s status.
As per the Rules Cyclopedia, the Druid class is available at higher levels.